Premed 101 Forums

Does prestige matter when it comes to references? (AB schools)

Hey everyone

This is my first time applying for med school and I am really stressing about reference selection. I will be using my MSc supervisor for one but I am struggling with other picks.

I have heard varied opinions on who is a good reference. Some people say as long as they can speak to your character and abilities while others say you should make sure they have a professional title.

For example, I have a coworker/shift supervisor that I worked with for 4 years in a retail environment. She saw me interact with customers and other employees but she wouldn't be seen as overly prestigious. I also have a senior level PhD student I worked closely with on graduate student council, but again not very professional in title. Then I have 2 volunteer coordinators who might sound better on paper but I have either known them for less time (less than a year) or not interacted much in person, only email. I think my one other solid option is a research staff scientist I have interacted with a lot but outside of my main lab environment so I don't think she would be too similar to my supervisor.

If you could please provide me with some opinions I would really appreciate it, thanks!

Use people who know you well AND who you think will be able to write a good reference. It’s a balance sometimes to pick someone who can do both, and I’d say ‘professional title’ is less important.