Premed 101 Forums

interventional cardiology vs cardiothoracic surgery vs general surgery

Hello guys,

I am in my final year of med school. I am in a dilemma , I seem to be unable to choose among cardiothoracic surgery, interventional cardiology and general surgery for a speciality.  I have done some extensive research on the specialities, however, I still fail to get some information with regards to salary and work-life balance differences between them.

1. I am someone who would enjoy cutting and suturing, but definitely I wouldn't enjoy standing for more than 3 hours everyday. I also enjoy doing something with my hands, but I also enjoy analysing and untangling complex processes and situations, e.g. interpreting complex lab results, and making sense out of them. I also enjoy sitting quietly and think deeply to arrive at a conclusion.

2. I am an ambivert, there are moments I enjoy talking and a lot of company, and there are moments I enjoy not talking much and just being alone. I enjoy to work in an environment full of people (for example a busy hospital) for a certain period of time, and then would also enjoy to work in a less stressful environment where it's quiet e.g a private practice office. So basically I would want a speciality that would allow me to work in a hospital, and in private practice. I would also like to teach at universities and do some research.

3. Generally the heart fascinates me, and I am someone who also enjoys physiology and pathophysiology so much. They have been my favorite courses of all time. However, I also enjoy doing things that are mentally stimulating, than doing a routine that may become monotonous.

4. I enjoy spending time with my family, and if I don't have family time, I easily feel lonely and frustrated.