Premed 101 Forums

UoT, McGill, McMaster undergrad question!

Guest leaf345

Guest leaf345

Hello

I'm a high school student and am going to university next year. I got accepted into UoT:SG(Life Sciences), McGill(Science), and McMaster(Science-not Health Science!).

I was just wondering if any of you with undergrad experience in these schools would be able to share some information with me.

My current goal is a carreer in health, preferably going to medical school. I know that extra curriculars and a high GPA are very important for this. My questions:

1) What are the opportunities at these universities to take part in research? How are the volunteering oppurtunities at the university or the city that they are located in?

2) GPA. I know university should be about learning not marks, but I would like to be able to achieve a high GPA as well and not be slaughtered in my first year. Is UoT really as hard as they say, or are most of the horror stories from ill-prepared students? Any tips on preparing for first year of undergrad?

3) Will going to school in Quebec affect my chances of getting into a mecial school in Ontario? Quebec?

4) Should I try and transfer to Lakehead for second year?

I would really appreciate any help. Thanks!

Guest Dockrh

Hello,

Next fall I will be attending Mc Master for Health Sciences. The reason why I chose this school is because although it is well known, many incredibly smart people are not drawn to this school. UoT is very well known and I believe you would have a hard time being able to assist a prof in research as a result. If you work hard though your GPA will probably go up. My brother did his undergrad at UoT and his marks actually increased. You will find when you go to university your main focus is usually just academics. When your in highschool, you're juggling academics, ecs, work,etc. If you can use time management then, you will have no problem in university.

dockrh

Guest Maelswarm