Premed 101 Forums

Help! Need advice about applying with an MSc...

Guest avarrin2001

Guest avarrin2001

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for advice from anyone who might have any info about this...

I applied for med school last year, and was denied by all five schools :( I then went on to do my MSc in Molecular biology. I am now in my last year (I will be finishing in December) and my supervisor has asked if I would instead be interested in switching into a PhD. It would only be 2 years extra (i.e., after december instead of being finished I would have 2 yr more and be totally done with a PhD instead of an MSc)... which, of course, sounds like a sweet deal.

The problem is that I have always wanted to go to med school. However, the reality is that my marks aren't great... in undergrad I had about an 83 average. I am thinking the MSc will help, but in grad school I have been getting 80s in my courses... so I am concerned that I still might not get in...

So to make a long story short... I really don't know what to do. Do I take the chance, quit after the MSc and hope to get into med school, or do I stick it out and go for the PhD, and assume I won't be accepted.

Does anyone have any idea about how more likely you are to get into med school with a Masters degree? I have been emailing the admissions departments at the med schools, and have not been getting any replies :(

I have to let my advisor know my decision at the end of this week!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Some schools in the country will look upon graduate degrees more favourably if you can demonstrate decent graduate productivity. These specifically include Ottawa and UofT. If you think you can crank up your productivity in the home stretch of your MSc, then you may have a decent shot. Likewise, if you can do the same within a PhD program. :)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest aneliz

Heya,