Premed 101 Forums

What drives you?

Guest daryn

Guest daryn

No, this isn't an interview question, but I really want to know what motivates all of you to keep on pursuing your goals. What do you need to remind you, to tell you that you need to keep on going? It's so hard sometimes because one can be so easily trapped in the daily grind and somehow things just slip away like that.

I'm afraid of that.

It's almost exams time and I am drained. How can you keep on being motivated for so long?

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there daryn,

Exam time is a tough time to get through, that's for sure. The process of rote memorization is not fun most of the time (if that's involved in the type of exams you write).

Thankfully, I'm in my second year of graduate studies and during this year I've been involved primarily in the practical side of this science. This is where graduate school can be fantastic--when you're entrenched in a subject and project that you really enjoy. Aside from the odd mini-wrestle with my statistical software, this type of work doesn't feel like work, so additional motivation isn't really required. (Daily pitstops to this set of forums do provide a nice break from consistent eyeballing of chi-square outputs and the like, though. ;) )

In short (and to paraphrase some illustrious soul): if you do what you love, it won't feel like work. :)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest MDSMelissa