Premed 101 Forums

Need Advice - Engineer looking to change careers

Guest littleDudeSharma

Guest littleDudeSharma

Hi Guys,

This message board is great place to get some very valuable info on med schools. Thanks!

I am an Electrical Engineer looking to change careers. I graded from UBC with a 3.0 GPA (a lotta partyin -> bzzr :P ). I am looking for a career change, not because I am not happy with what I do or $$ issues, but because I would like to pursue something different, a career where you are able to grow into any dimension you want. Anyways, I am thinking of doing a second degree in Biology (2 Years) and then applying for Med. If I am able to score a 4.0 in the 70-75 credits that I complete in the B.Sc degree, do you guys think I have a shot at getting an interview at UBC (given all other variables meet the UBC entrance levels, such as MCAT, ECs, etc)?

Your feedback is much appreciated.

Guest sparkle

Hello,

Before you consider a potential career change, make sure you have considered all the pros/cons carefully because in a way, it sounds like you are still quite happy with your current career. There's so much involved with becoming a doctor...it can be very satisfying in terms of "growing into any dimension you want" but it also involves sacrifices that you will have to make. Ask yourself if you will love what you do. If you will, then your second degree is an option. However, I'm not sure how each school will calculate grades with a second degree. That is something you should look into further. And if indeed you can get 4.0 in all your courses, that will be quite impressive! Along with good ECs, MCAT, I think getting an interview would be possible :)

sparkle

Guest anvah

Hey,