Premed 101 Forums

commute or live in rez

Guest dentisthopeful

Guest dentisthopeful

hi, I'm a first year undergrad faced with the difficult choice of whether to commute or live in residence. If I get a ride, it would take like 40 minutes, depending on the traffic. On the days when my mom can't drive me, it takes 75 minutes to get there by bus. My parents keep on telling me to live in rez, since time saved from commuting will help me study. However, I hear that rez (at UBC) could be noisy and there's parties going on. Also, I have a double room and my roommate might want to invite people over and stuff. These would all distract me. So I would really like some opinion as to which option I should choose. Especially for those commuting, do you find two 75 minute bus ride a day very time consuming? thanks :D

Two 75 minute busrides plus time getting to and waiting for the bus can easily add up to more than 3 hours per day. I wouldn't worry as much about being distracted - that's what libraries are for. Plus, living in res, you'd have 3 extra hours to use however you wanted each and every day. That 15 hours per school week assuming no rides from you mom. That's over 60 hours per week - working full time for a week and a half each month, all for free.

Also, you should consider some of the other benefits of res. Interacting with your roommate and the people you will meet through him/her and other people is one of the most important aspects of going to university. It's not all about studying (not that you shouldn't work hard).

All I'm saying is that the experience you'll have interacting with and involving yourself within the university environment will be invaluable. It will be difficult to see this from your perspective but I'd suggest talking to other people who've done it to verify what I'm saying. It will be significantly more difficult if not impossible to get this experience commuting from home.