Premed 101 Forums

What are MY chances?

Guest toBeaDoc

Guest toBeaDoc

I've made a decision to go to medical school. Here is my situation.

I graduated with BSc (in Actuarial Science, i.e. Financial Mathematics) from UofT 2 years ago, never took any courses in biology/chemistry (other than the ones I took in my native country, but that was a while ago). So, I basically have no formal medical background. I have a career in Actuarial Consulting now, but unfortunately it does not satisfy my needs. My GPA is about 3.3-3.4. I have extensive employment experience, and about to do voluntreering in the hospital.

All my life I've been extremely interested in medicine, and was told by people around me that it would fit my personality perfectly. But I never really took that seriously, first of all because of financial and family reasons. Now, I'm ready to give it a serious try.

What would you say my chances are of getting into med school?

Guest thecod

well, your gpa is too low for every medical school in ontario, except for mcmaster. and even for mcmaster, your gpa is far below the average. but, it would seem that mcmaster is your only chance. i don't believe american schools would accept you because you have no science background. and most canadian schools require the mcat. unless you take some science courses and somehow mangage to boost your gpa, you're unlikely to get accepeted. but, there's always the caribbean. ;)

mcmaster isn't your only choice. there are other schools besides those that make their home in ontario.

and like elaine says below, admissions scores are related to trends in grades, not just overall gpa's so you aren't necessarily excluded from any certain school.

most schools require some science prerequisite courses; therefore, your best option, in my opinion, is to return to school as an unclassified student for a year (+summer?) to pick up biology, chemistry, organic chem, (and biochem, stats, etc. depending on what schools you want to apply to).