Premed 101 Forums

How to decide where to apply

Guest seonagh

Guest seonagh

Hello all,

Congrats to everyone that is starting soon!!!!

I had been planning on applying this fall but have decided to go ahead with finishing a 4 year honours degree so it won't be until next fall for me. Given that I still have two undergrad years left to make sure that I get the pre-reqs I needs before it is too late I am trying to decide now where I would like to apply and to how many schools I will apply.

For those that have made the decision already, how did you do it?

For those entering a school, why did you pick that school?

I'm from Cape Breton and so I'm a NS resident. Right now I'm thinking about applying to Dal, UWO, MUN, UBC??, UofA, NOMS. I'm a non-trad applicant (read old!!:) ) with a wierd academic record. I don't have a lot of recent volunteer work but some interesting life experience and I am working to build up the volunteering aspect of my application this year.

I want to find schools that would minimize the negative and maximize my chances of getting in of course but I also want to find a program that will fit me well. I've done a lot of research into most of the Canadian schools but would love to have more personal input since that will hopefully illuminate some things I have thought of.

Seonagh

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

For those that have made the decision already, how did you do it?