Premed 101 Forums

Examples of jobs and/or graduate work?

Guest violetk

Guest violetk

Hey guys!

This question is for those of you who went to graduate school or worked after getting your bachelor's. What are some of the examples of masters programs or interesting positions in hospitals or other places?

Thank you for your feedback.

Violet

Guest therealcrackers

I did a grad degree at U of T after my bachelor's: unsuccessful in my first application to meds, but ultimately interested in both meds and research, I started in a master's program in a molecular cardiology lab at Toronto General. The lab has since moved to St. Mike's...

Best things that came out of the project, vis-a-vis getting into medical school and succeeding:

1) Literature searching and information compiling skills. Huge. Key. Essential.

2) Ability to concentrate for extended periods of time.

3) Ability to interact with and within a hierarchy. They exist everywhere.

4) Teaching experience: really helps being on the other side of the evaluation equation...

5) The actual knowledge: about half the people in meds try to stay in their research area, about half don't. I'm in the former camp...

6) Documentation. You have no idea how big a deal this is in clerkship and thereafter.

Hope that helps. Good luck!

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Below is an example of a job (the posting is currently active for anyone seeking a little extra work).

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Ontario HIV Treatment Network

Medical Chart Data Extraction/Data Entry Opportunities

We have openings for short term contract staff to do data entry at various Hospital Outpatient Clinics and Family Practitioners in Toronto who specialize in HIV care. The Ontario HIV Treatment Network is providing funding to these clinics to be used for the data entry of patient data into an electronic medical record, which will later be used for research.