Premed 101 Forums

accepted/waitlisted/rejected thread for non-trads

Guest ssc427

Guest ssc427

In preparation for May 15th can one of the mods please sticky a thread for this? It might be useful for future non-trads.

In addition to noting the usual GPA/MCAT and schools where you've been accepted/waitlisted/rejected, it might be useful to list some of your more 'non-trad' attributes, such as age, background, and number of children/dependents.

Guest happy2bme

I'm a Calgary AND Manitoba resident and Manitoba Special Applicant (therefore I had two interviews at Manitoba) by admissions definitions. Currently living in Calgary.

My GPA was for my first degree was around 3.0ish, worst year 2.65 and my second degree 3.8ish, best year 4.0 and my MCAT scores were:

Physical Sciences: 9

Verbal: 11

Biological Sciences: 10

Written Sample: N- seriously, but look at my posts and my lack of sentence structure is obvious.

I was accepted by Calgary. This is my second time applying to this school. I loved the MMI!!!

I was also accepted by Manitoba, it was my first time applying to this school.

I was interviewed at UofC and Manitoba.

Of all the schools I applied to, I WILL attend Calgary as my first choice.

As a side note I am an older applicant(32, 33 when school starts!) with healthcare experience and a family! My extracurics included things like "soccer mom", female hockey player , and examiner for a national professional association.

Guest nucleardove

Congrats happy!!

That's awesome! I'm so happy for you. Now you can concentrate on your eye-rolling skills for the fall (heavily exercised when dealing with some of the more "green" members of your class). ;)

Woo!

ND

Guest ssc427

Congrats Happy!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm a BC resident with 3.7 ish GPA UGrad GPA.

BS 12

PS 13

VR 11

W Q

Accepted to UBC (IMP), UofT, UofM, Columbia

Waitlisted UofA, Western, Queens, UofO, McGill, Harvard, Stanford... talk about med school purgatory!