Premed 101 Forums

possible to do mcat prep, pre-req without science background

Guest malkastate

Guest malkastate

Hi Everyone,

Sadly I was rejected from Mac and NOSM pre-interview. Not unexpected given the number of applicants, but I thought my application was strong so I'm pretty blue.

Here is my situation. I'm a mature student (age 30) just finishing up a 4 year undergrad health policy degree at York U. In order to apply for more schools next year I'm going to take the MCAT (oy veh!) and a bunch of science pre-reqs.

Now here is the problem. I have no science background. Do I have to (or should I) go back to high school and take OAC/grade 12 (or whatever it's called now) prior to taking sciences at York/Ryerson/U of T (I'm not sure where I'm going to go yet for the pre-reqs).

Ideally I'd like all my pre-reqs to be in progress this year (06/07) so I can apply across the country in this upcoming application cycle. Plus I'll be taking the MCAT course this summer. Is this possible ie highschool/pre-reqs/mcats all within one year? Has anyone else gone through this. Any advice on where to take the pre-reqs.

Also-as a mature student I've done really well in my degree- but the focus was on writing, reading, and critical thinking. I'm not sure how I'm going to do in these science pre-reqs- for those of you with little science background what's it like going back to school for science?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,