Premed 101 Forums

Mature student trying to pull up GPA to apply, suggestions?

Guest alicrmt

Guest alicrmt

Here it is, another one of those "my GPA sucks, but I want to go to med school"....

First off, I am a mature student - 31 yrs old, currently own my own practice as an RMT and I'm finishing my B.Sc. through UW distance ed. I finally decided after being completely unmotivated up to this point, that I really want to go to med school. I actually always wanted to, but never took myself seriously because I thought I couldn't do it.

So....I have completed 20/30 undergrad courses, but I realize that to pull my GPA up enough to be considered, I would have to achieve basically 100% in all 10 remaining courses.

Any advice as to how to proceed would be appreciated as I REALLY want to try and make this happen. I would need to complete all undergrad through distance ed, as I need to keep my full time practice until med school, if possible. I know that some schools take your best 2 years, but I am also really leaning towards MAC, and I know they don't do that.

Is it realistic to think I could take a 4th year of courses to try and pull up the average, or is there a better way to proceed in my situation? Maybe it's all a pipe dream, but I know I won't be happy unless I at least try!

Thanks in advance!

Guest Steve MD09

You might want to look into doing a victory lap (taking an extra year of courses beyond degree requirements). That could pull up your best/most recent 2 years, and also have a significant effect on cumulative GPA.

Guest nucleardove

Hey there,

How long ago did you start your degree?

I was in a similar situation to yours (RMT, went back to university at 26, did a 4-year degree, now in first year meds), and my cumGPA kinda sucked since I blew off my first 2 years when I was 18/19. I used UBC's "ten-year rule" to advantage, dropping the old course.