Premed 101 Forums

I need some advice...

Guest Regina063

Guest Regina063

Hi,

I have applied to McMaster in the last two years, and have not been invited for an interview in either year. I just received my "thanks, but no thanks" letter today, so I'm feeling discouraged. I'm 42, a mother of 3 children, married, and have been employed as a medical secretary, and now a clinical research associate at a local cancer centre for about 22 years. I am in my fourth year of a B.Sc. in psychology at McMaster. I've been doing this part-time since 1993. I am feeling discouraged and wondering if I should pack in my quest to be a physician, which I have been pursuing since '89. In 1989 I had the good fortune to apply to nursing and be accepted at Mohawk, but I decided I really was more interested in medicine. I got into science at McMaster with the hopes that I would eventually be able to get into the medical program there. I know in the last few years the GPA needed to get an interview (at McMaster) has gone up significantly. And the numbers applying to McMaster has skyrocketed. Is the double cohort driving up the GPA as well as the numbers applying to this program?

I'm also wondering about med school in the states. I was under the impression that one had to be a resident of the U.S. for a year or something like that in order to attend med school there.

Anyhow, if anyone can shed some light on the above issues, I would really appreciate your input.

Signed,

Should I Just Give Up???

Guest sixster

Hi,

I wouldn't quit if this is something you truly want. Not everything in life is going to be easy, so if you really want to get into medicine do whatever it takes to get in, as long as you don't hurt anyone or do anything illegal :D

Have you completed your undergrad as a part-time student? Do you have any years as a full-time student? From what I remember you need to have at least two years as a full-time student. So this could be one reason you didn't get an interview.