Premed 101 Forums

Do I Ever have a chance??

Guest tinee007

Guest tinee007

Can anyone give me any TRUTHFUL advice? I'm anxiously awaiting to see if UBC will offer me an interview this year (Didn't get one last year). Anyways, I'm wondering if I'm a lost cause for medicine since my academic marks are not very good. I have an overall of ~80, pre-reqs ~72 (eeekk)!, and last 60 cred ~82. My MCAT is only a 27N as well. Last year, they evaluated me with around 20th percentile for academics and ~85th percentile for extra-curriculars. And I was only one point away from getting an interview.

I guess I'm wondering if I have any chance at all and if there is any good news for people like me. I feel like there's not much I can do about my marks (and I don't think I want to do grad studies).

Also, how many times can one apply to ubc??

Also, I'm a bc resident.

Thanks to anyone that can give me some input during this frustrating time...

Guest kellyl20

Don't worry; if you check the stats of the people who accepted UBC last year (or the previous years) your marks are very fine for UBC. Mcat is more important for the non science students. There does not seem to be a strict cutoff for academic marks as other provinces have.

Good luck.

Guest not rex morgan