Premed 101 Forums

ohhhh the waiting!

Guest supa76

this being my second year applying, I am going a bit nuts this year waiting yet again for that small green graphic to appear on my application status page. It doesnt help that I'm currently finishing a 3 month internship that is keeping me idle all day at a computer. :| (and no one here to commiserate with -- thus the plea to an internet BB.)

Given I graduated quite a number of years ago, and now know medicine is the only thing I'm really interested in doing, its exhaustingly frustrating to have to wait to get started! I dread thinking about not getting accepted this year again, and having another year to find things to do. Having giving up my old career a couple of years ago to pursue medicine, I'm running out of things to do! (well, mostly running out of money to do things i'd like to do!)

I think if I'm not accepted this year, I will apply to paramedic school and fallback on that for however long it takes. Although I'm optimistic about getting in eventually, its hard dealing with the instablity of not knowing for sure -- having your life on hold for so many years. I try to think that well, doing things now that will benefit a medical career later or doing things that I might not have a chance to do later will help, but it really doesn't.

Is/was anyone in the same boat? (well, really who isn't!). how have you dealt with the uncertainty? I'm sure once you actually make it in, these times will be enviable, you'll wonder what all the fuss was about, and start really worrying about residency matching! the grass is always greener...

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,