Premed 101 Forums

Questions about UBC App...specifically non academics/essay

Guest Sorcham

Guest Sorcham

Hi,

I'm new to this page and feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment. I'm applying sooner than I had anticipated and am feeling a bit confused and overwhelmed. I have a few things that are causing me grief. I did my undergrad at UBC and have very low prereqs (failed and had to repeat one...wasn't planning on med school at the time. Average of ~65). They are old, 97-98, and I have a ton of other things working for me at the moment. I completed 2 degrees (B.Sc in Cell Bio and Genetics and B.A. in English) essentially at the same time. I have lots of good work experience and my academics towards the end of school are pretty good, (low 80's) although not fabulous. I really want to emphasize all the other things that I have working for me, but I'm not entirely sure how to go about this. I've been told to include many things and avoid others in my personal statement. For example, I should explain why I'm older and applying (28...graduated 2002), I should avoid talking about my low prereqs but somehow explain them, and I should somehow list all the positives. But if my statement includes why I want to be a doctor, why my prereqs are low, why I'm applying at 28 (which I don't think is that old...but will med schools?), the benefits of my various jobs and experiences (volleyball captain, assistant instructor for a martial arts school, job as a teacher for ESL, job as a research assistant, job supervising staff in residence at UBC, volunteer work at a cancer clinic and hosptial etc etc etc), it seems just way too long. I want to include all this info in my application, but what goes in my personal statement?

Also, I have volunteer work etc in health related fields, but none is 3 years or even close. Should I still put it in the community service area? Should it go under 'others'?

That's it for now...sorry it's so long! Any help would be greatly appreciated!