Premed 101 Forums

Advantages/disadvantages to applying as a "Mature Stude

Guest MFC

Hi everyone,

For the NOSM submission under question 1 they ask "Type of Application" and state you can be considered in a separate admissions stream if you are a "Mature Student", defined as applicants who are 25 or older on October 1, 2005. I have an MSc and was working as an environmental consultant, but don’t consider myself THAT mature (just turn 25 this summer). Can anyone think of the advantages/disadvantages of being considered in a separate stream of mature students?

Cheers!

can you cut and paste where you read that Mature Students are considered under a separate stream?

I'm sure you don't get docked or bonus points if you are a Mature student. Infact the average age getting in for the charter class was 27-28.

They are not explicit, but I'm inferring this from the following

"All applicants will be considered in the general admissions stream, unless you choose one or both of the following two specialized streams. These are voluntary selections.

Aboriginal admissions stream (proof of ancestry will be necessary)

Mature Student (answer question 8 on the previous page) " - Taken from Question 1 of the school submission section of the online application.

In the OMSAS 2006 instruction booklet it then states under the section heading "Mature Applicants" that …

Applicants who are 25 years of age or older on October 1, 2005 will be eligible for admissions consideration based on completion of a three-year undergraduate university degree in any discipline. Weighted Grade Point Average determination is detailed above. Mature students who have completed a four year undergraduate degree will be assessed for admission using the WGPA method outlined above for applicants applying with, or in progress of completing, a four-year degree."

PS – do you know where the must up-to-date stats are for the NOSM charter class?

Thanks!