Premed 101 Forums

Has anyone written while working 2 jobs?

Guest clinicalchief

Guest clinicalchief

Just finished second year, and I'm wondering if taking the exam in August would be a bad idea since I'll be working 60+ hourse/week? Taking a prep course is also an option but that will take up 2 more nights a week...what do you think?

Thanks.

Guest UWOMED2005

I wrote my MCAT while working working 2 jobs, roughly 50-60 hours per week. No course - just studied what evenings I had and weekends. Ended up with 11/13/14/S. . . not too shabby, decent enough at least to make all the cutoffs.

Guest therealcrackers

I did it while doing research full-time and working as an usher for the Blue Jays evenings and weekends during the summer. I studied from old exams and a review book since my orgo was almost a decade old at that point. Managed 12/14/11/Q so it went OK...

Guest Ollie

Hi,

I just wrote in April. I'm a grad student right now, and I put in 50+ hours per week in the lab, and am doing some volunteering. I didn't take a course, just studied on my own. For me, a lot of the material was from courses I took 5-6 years ago! I felt that I did fine on test day, so it is definitely possible to fit in the time.

UWOMED2005: 11/13/14/S! Not to shabby? That's freakin' awesome!

Guest UWOMED2005

Thanks - but in the end, for most schools in Canada (it is different for the US) as long as you get above roughly 10s and P, you're making all the cutoffs and it doesn't matter anyways. And you can get less than that even and make some/most cutoffs, depending on score breakdown and school.

I didn't post my scores to brag. . . just wanted to make the point it is possible to work 2 jobs and do well on the MCAT. If you want some more info, I started at the end of May, used the Gold Standard, Barron's (the best value - $17 and almost all you need) and the AAMC material, as well as borrowing some textbooks in courses I had never taken.

Good Luck.

Guest peachy