Premed 101 Forums

Correlation between Kaplan tests and the real MCAT?

Guest sally2001

Guest sally2001

Hey everyone,

Just wondering how people find their Kaplan Full-Length test results compare to the actual administered MCAT? I've heard that Kaplan's test to be "harder" than the real thing? I'm taking the Kaplan course and got a 8-7-8 on Test 1 followed by a wonderful 9-8-5, yes 5 on Test 2. Of course I'm studying much harder, but I"m not really sure what to expect...

:)

• 3 weeks later...
Guest ryguy

I took the course last year and scored 7's and worked my way up to 9's (roughly). Then on the actual day I scored 11's accross the board.

I thought their tests were great compared to the real thing.

Guest Valani9

The practice science sections are definitely good enough.

For verbal - you would do well to practice more with the real AAMC material. Kaplan will give you practice tests, and you can get it off the AAMC website. It's worth the $50, or whatever it costs.

These companies don't really know exactly how to simulate verbal. I had the Princeton Review VR down cold, but I fould the real one to be somewhat different.

Good luck.

Guest aneliz

I find that some of the Kaplan science passages are WAY too difficult...and would never be on the actual MCAT. That said, if you can score well with the Kaplan tests, you should be fine come test day.

Kaplan VR passages tend to be either slightly easier or much harder then the actual MCAT VR....

But, the Kaplan material is still excellent prep material and if you can do well on it, you should be in good shape for the real thing.