Premed 101 Forums

GPA calculation

Guest Sumi23

Hi all,

Does anyone know how U of A calculates the cumulative GPA and prerequisite GPA? I am in fourth year, so does that mean my worst year is dropped and my best two years plus the current year are used for the cumulative GPA calculation? I have taken more than the required number of prereqs in each category so are the highest grades used to calculate the prereq gpa? I am a UBC student so I am a little confused about how my grades are converted to the 9 point scale. Do they use percentages or letter grades? Sorry about asking so many questions. Thanks for all your help.

Sumi

Guest Ian Wong

I managed to find this on the U of A website under Section 15. here:

www.med.ualberta.ca/ugme/admissions/md/md_faq.html

<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote>Quote:<hr>

15. If I have a bad year, will it be used in the GPA calculation?

The GPA is calculated on all undergraduate university course work you have ever done with the exception of applicants who have completed four or more years of university. For applicants with four or more years of completed university work, the admissions cumulative academic average is calculated with the deletion of the lowest annual average, provided it is not the most recent completed year, or the one and only year where 30 units of course weight (five full course equivalents) have been completed.<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END-->

Wish I could help out more, but I suspect the best people to contact are the admissions folks themselves. Chances are good (I would think), that they would take the earliest pre-req courses (ie. the first and second year courses if possible) as those are the courses that other applicants likely also completed, which would give the admissions committee a more standardized grading scheme to compare between candidates. You should really check with them if you are worried.