Premed 101 Forums

May I pick your brain? Opinions appreciated

Guest Elliott

Guest Elliott

I am about to bare my soul to the board in hopes of obtaining some much needed advice.

Here is my story:

I graduated from highschool in BC in 1999 with average grades. Think C+/B average. I was very involved in student activities as an excutive member of my student body. I volunteered within my community and had a good after school job.

I went to University (UNBC) my first year after graduating and studied English and Geography - again receiving average grades. My second year, I attended college in Vancouver and things went terribly wrong. Upsetting circumstances within my family forced me to have to spend time travelling home (my parents live outside Vancouver) and I ended up not completing the semester. I was so preoccupied, I didn't even withdraw. I received five F's that year and two C-'s (over two semesters). Needless to say, I was on AP.

After two years in a stable job in a good company, volunteering and some deep, deep thoughts, I returned to school. I am now in my third year (newly admitted to UBC) with an ok GPA (3.5 - 3.6). Of course this is not my CGPA.

I have a somewhat impressive list of activities and experiences, as well as paid and volunteer work experience.

I am excited about this prospects of my future and completing my degree. I wish strongly to apply to medschool. I have partially completed my med-school pre-reqs and my grades in these courses are good.

My questions are:

1. Do I even stand a chance?

2. I know I can apply to have the bad grades removed - is it worth a try? Do they still look at these grades - even if they are removed?

3. What avenues should I employ to further demonstrate my dedication to my studies, the prospect of being a medical professional and my ability to perform academically?

I have looked through old posts and FAQs, but was hoping to get some opinions on my situation. Responses and information are greatly appreciated.