Premed 101 Forums

a look in to the future...

Guest CASTLECASCADE

Guest CASTLECASCADE

Hai,

I got admitted to U of T for life science. That is the first step in my ambition to be a doctor. But i do have a question. Since i am new to Canada(10 months), i don't have an idea of the relative importance of education in Canada, USA and the Caribbean.

My questions are:

1, Is the admission requirements for Caribbean med schools much less than that of Canadian ones. That is if i could join in a Caribbean medschool, will i be saving some of my undergraduate years ? Is there any other particular advantage or disadvantage if i go for Caribbean ?

2, Is it better to

a, do undergrad in Canada and medschool in the US.

b, do both in Canada and then residency in the US.

c, do all in Canada and work in US(as a physician) ?

I am asking which is the best careerwise and otherwise(financially etc).

[assuming i do get in to all these]

Thankyou guys.

Guest Jochi1543

Are you bent on practicing in the US? It seems like all your options concern with that. I'm personally in the US now, but I plan to practice in Canada (after finishing Canadian med school). My undergrad was in the US. The reason why I wanna practice in Canada is the lack of insurance garbage - I'd rather make less money, but have more free time and center my work around patients, not bills and insurance companies.

Don't go to Caribbean schools unless your grades don't allow you to get into a US/Canadian school. And the other issue you want to consider is costs - med school in Canada is cheaper than in the US (unless you're a US citizen and go to a public university in the state you officially reside in). It's a better idea to do meds and residency in the same country. As far as undergrad and meds are concerned, it doesn't really matter that much, you can do both in the same country or do them in different countries.

Guest CASTLECASCADE

Thankyou Jochi.