Premed 101 Forums

Application

Guest sleepless in Vancouver

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

I believe a few people lodged some application appeals last year or the year before. I'm not sure of the outcomes of those, but it certainly seems that there is a process in place.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest sleepless in Vancouver

I just think that who I am as a person makes my application worth appealing for. I know that I am a doctor-type and have shown growth, maturity and experiences that support that. I hate the fact that my whole life is just worth a score, a number on a ladder. I'm more than just that X number of marks that I get from doing that hospital volunteer work. There's the big picture of "me" and that's worth fighting for.

I know that things seem bleak. Perhaps I just need to hear them say it to my face. I'm an actual person and I don't see how a score really reflects who I am and how high is my potential.

Hi Sleepless,

I know how you feel as I am without an interview as well. I would suggest that you wait until your feedback meeting and you can see where you can improve for next year. We all think we are "doctor type" or we wouldn't be applying! Unfortunately with 1300 applicants they need to draw the line somewhere. People who are more than qualified will be excluded. That's just the way it is. This is my first application, but I have heard from friends that have gone through the feedback process that UBC is often looking for very specific things in your non-academic profile. Yes we are all more than a score out of 50, but they have to find some way of quantifiying the "intangible" stuff. At least UBC has a feedback process which is more than what some schools offer!