Premed 101 Forums

re-do medical school??? better chances than carms???

Guest abunoah1

Guest abunoah1

I will be a permanent resident and living in Halifax, Canada. I graduated from Suez Canal University (it is on the WHO list) in Egypt. It was a 6 year program. I feel that applying for residency throught CaRMS is a waste of time and also would like the Canadian experience and knowledge I would gain from re-doing medical school there. I will list my experience and qualifications below and I hope someone can tell me what my chances are and even if they allow that type of entry to Dalhousie Medical School.

About Me:

25 years old

6 year degree in Medicine and Surgery, Egypt ( 82.6%) 2nd in class, year 2

4th in class year 4, 28th in class year 6 (got married, had baby)

1 year manager of Al-Borg Laboratory (also a sample doctor there)

1 year health upgrading consultant to the United Nations Development Program in Egypt (designing and conducting health campaigns in slum areas including being the one to introduce the idea of screening poor areas for avian flu in Ismailia)

1 year Pharmacist assistant at local pharmacy

level C CPR/FIRST AID

Certificate of emergency medicine and first aid

research for UNDP on prevelant diseases in slum areas

research leader of a group of 239 students in field of community medicine

research on occupational effects on hearing

1 year clinical observership in general and hepatic surgery hospital

just started masters in Medical Education ( a new program here and the only one in the middle east)

National rowing champion of Egypt 3 consecutive years

references from Harvard and Brown graduate doctors who were my professors and know me personally

Student Council president in high school

100% average from high school

willing to take the MCAT whenever

please help me figure out my best plan, I really want to go to Dalhousie...am I competitive?