Premed 101 Forums

Neurosciences at Dalhousie

Guest smileyguy 88

Guest DancingDoc

I love the undergrad neuroscience program at Dal. Professors are really great, in general it's just a great faculty. It's combined with psychology so most course are cross-listed if you want some psych in there. Research opportunities are great (For me, especially because of connections to the medical building, the Tupper, researchers). For instances I am doing my honours thesis with a neurosurgeon to work on stem cells and Parkinson's disease. I know lots of other people in my program with similar experiences. As for grad related, I'm not sure since I'm an undergrad, but similarly you have classes that include many of the 4th year seminar courses, and of what I've experiences of them so far they are really great classes. Similar research opportunities for grads but to an even greater extent. There's also a really active undergrad neuroscience society, which has a really great group of people in it.

Guest geekpunk

Dancing Doc,

We probably know each other, I'm in my 4th year of Neuro at Dal too!

And to the OP, the program here at Dal is great. I definetly have no regrets of choosing Neuro as my major. With all majors at virtually all schools, you'll run into some great teachers and some poor ones, but overall, the program here is great.

Guest MrNeuroscience

Hi 88

First off, choose a school that you would like to be in for the next four years before you choose a program! It doesn't matter if you love your program if you hate the school you are a part of, and can't stand living in the city that school is situated in. As for Dalhousie, it is fairly easy to remain anonymous, because classes are just large enough so that if you don't make yourself known, you won't be known (until upper level classes anyway).