Premed 101 Forums

entering the medical school in Canada.

Guest foreign doctor

Guest foreign doctor

Hi,

I am a qualified doctor in Thailand and have a clinical experience in the US. But I am moving to Canada permantly. I would like to know what I should do to get in the med school in Canada. Do I need to take MCAT and start the process from begining? Where can I find out about med school's requirements?? Or can I skip some clinical courses if I can pass MCC EE and QE???

Million thanks for your help....

foreign doctor

Hi Foreign Doctor,

As I am sure you are aware, there are many obstacles that international medical graduates (even Canadian citizens that have gone to a medical school in the US) must overcome before being licensed to practice in Canada. It can be a very long and frustrating process because the number of applicants is much greater than the number of spaces. You do not necessarily have to re-do medical school in Canada if you have graduated from a recognised school (seeing as you have experience in the US, I assume that this won't be a problem for you). Instead, you will need to pass a series of exams and then complete an IMG program and likely a residency in Canada. You didn't mention what part of Canada you were intending to move to, and each province has their own procedures and regulations to qualify IMG's to practice.

The following link refers specifically to Ontario (and is for this current year...the deadlines for this year have passed, however, I don't imagine that they change too much from year to year so it would likely be safe to assume that the same cycle will repeat beginning in Oct 2003.)

www.library.utoronto.ca/m...003_04.pdf

The provincial government has just opened up 50 more spots in the IMG program and has also created a 'fast-track' program although I don't know the details of it. You could try contacting the IMG program...their contact info is on the last page of the PDF file that is linked above.

Good luck!