Premed 101 Forums

Com Med vs Fam Med

Guest mountainsbeyondmountains

Hi,

I'm debating between applying for Family Medicine or Community Medicine (I still have some time before I need to decide). I would eventually like to be working in international health and/or inner-city care (mobile clinics, school-based clinics, women's preventive health, etc) in combination with doing some academic research work in these areas. I know this would normally suggest going through the community medicine route, however I already have a Master's in Public Health and have spent sometime managing and researching inner-city health programs so I am wondering if I may be able to still achieve my goals with a Family Medicine residency, rather than going through the 18 month academic coursework and placement (much, though not all, of which may be repetition for me) and longer Comm Medicine residency, and still get to where I want to be. I am a mature student so would appreciate the shorter residency but would endure a longer residency if it was necessary.

Guest spitfireMkIX

Let me say up front I'm no expert, but maybe I can provide some insight which will help.

Having the MPH + Family Medicine should be enough to get you into the areas you mentioned. However, some jobs might require you to have an actual community medicine residency (such as a medical officer of health, not that you mentioned it, but just an example).

Doing the MHSc (as part of the comm med residency) would have some repetition, but maybe you could target a different area than your MPH and gain new/more experience. I'm sure that the placements in the comm. med. residency would give you a wider range of knowledge, and give you experience that could land you a more senior position.

Have you talked to anyone in/running the community medicine residency about your options? There may be some flexibility to tailor it to your needs.