Premed 101 Forums

Recommended Courses...

Guest Rome1

Guest Rome1

I was wondering on most US med school sites, it lists recommended courses for applicants. Do they give preference to students that have completed these courses? Also, let's say that i am finishing my second semester of orgo chem in the Fall while i am in the process of applying to the schools, would this second semester orgo chem be considered for the full year orgo requirement?

I was looking at the Northwestern and it states : 'All applicants are required to have completed at least 3 years of course work at an accredited U.S. or Canadian college'. Does this include the year that you are applying? I am in second year and would like to apply next year to the school. Would this be possible?

Rome1

As long as you have finished the course by the time you start med school, you'll be fine. I didn't finish several prereq courses while I was applying (I was missing half a semester of bio) and they didn't seem to mind. So yes, you could apply next year and technically get in with just 90 credits under your belt. However, I am gonna warn you that unless your MCAT is above a 36 and your GPA is greater than 3.9, it is VERY difficult to get in with only three years of college (and even then it's still hard). American schools are different from Canadian schools in that while they say you only need three years of college, 99% of people who enter med school in the US have a degree, whereas in Canada, at some schools, only 60-90% have degrees.

Guest medschoolboy

just to add to the degree issue, i think us schools should be more open to students without a bachelors. and less to ppl with other kind of degrees because i believe that they already have a "spot" in society whether it be a phd or lawyer or whatever. anyways, it'd be nice to see more non bachelors in the states.

Guest Rome1

Hi guys,

Thanks for your responses!