Premed 101 Forums

How much ECs is good enough?

Guest SandglassSMD

Guest SandglassSMD

Hi, this is my first time posting questions on here. I first found this board not so long ago. It's been really great for me to get a lot of information regarding med schools from this site.

I was wondering how much ECs is considered to be good enough. I haven't started doing a lot of extra-cirricular activities because I tried to make a high GPA in my 1st year and I'm going into my 2nd year this fall. I am currently volunteering about 8 hours a week for the summer only. I'm not sure if I should volunteer or continue doing some things during the coming school year. I'm afraid I won't be able to give enough time to my studies if I do other stuff. However, if I only volunteer and get a job every summer, it doesn't seem like I am gonna have enough ECs, will I? :| Do you guys have any suggestion for this? :\ Thanks!

Guest scrubbed

Hello,

It's a balance between doing well academically and purusing other activities. The first year is especially tough since you may not have a lot of guidance of how to best allocate your time.

It sounds good that you were able to do well in school this year. Having a better idea of what university level work requires, I think that this could be the year where you could branch out and do some more activities. As I became more comfortable with university, I found that I was able to do more activities while still managing to do well in school.

Try to find some activities that you enjoy doing during the school year that you feel will develop your non-academic side. There's no set limit of activities that you need to do. Just go out there and do your best and keep an open mind about your options.

Guest gloria