Premed 101 Forums

Keeping up with volunteering

Guest leviathan

Guest leviathan

Hey all,

I was wondering what your opinions were on whether or not the average med student could keep their volunteer positions after starting in med school? I'm pretty involved in St. John Ambulance both in teaching and public duties, and I'm wondering whether it would be feasible to keep that up if I'm doing medicine.

Cheers.

Guest medicator007

Absolutely....

I'm in my 4th year of medical school at McGill and also happen to be the Regional Training Officer for SJA in Montreal. It certainly is doable, it just is a matter of proper time management and realizing one's own limitations and availabilities. I also have a few other volunteer associations that I have kepy up during medical school and makes my CaRMS application longer :lol

Cheers,

Medicator

Guest leviathan

Ahhh yes, I thought you would respond Medicator! Thanks for the advice. I see so many people in my division quit after they've been accepted into med school because they "dont have enough time anymore" so it made me wonder.

Guest ploughboy

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----

Hash: SHA1

Hey leviathan,

I fully intend to transfer to 1 Division here in London and continue volunteering with SJA. I just haven't gotten my lazy bum down to St John House to start the process, although in my defense I've been occupied with little things like unpacking, painting etc. Once I get that settled, I think I'll have sufficient time to do some vounteering, at least in the pre-clinical years. My school is pass/fail, so I'm all about "six-oh and go". I've heard from upper year students that the best use of my time will be to do lots of shadowing and read around the cases that I see, rather than sit in a lecture hall all day. Since my schedule is/will be flexible, I figure I should be able to continue with one of the things that got me interested in meds in the first place.

Good luck with your applications etc!

pb