Premed 101 Forums

Queens Science (Life science) undergrad .. any comments?

Guest Alastriss

Guest Alastriss

High, I'm a high school student who is strongly considering studying Science, with my major interest being Life sciences, at Queens university.

I would like to know more about class sizes, teaching styles, and all about the lab courses that you have to take.

Guest 007

Hey,

I just finished 3rd year Life Sci at Queen's...

Personally I love it, but it is a lot of work.

Class sizes...big in first year for the most part. I think the biggest auditorium is for about 3-400 people, but you really do get used to that sort of size (or at least I did). However, my 1st year English class was only 45 people. This past year, I still had several large classes but more classes in the 40-80 person range. I don't find the large classes to be a problem because usually for those classes you have labs associated with them, so you do get to work in smaller groups and get to know profs or TAs and classmates. Also, by 3rd year, you do know most of the 200 people in your program so that aspect isn't really overwhelming anymore.

Teaching styles...yeah, there are some crummy profs, but that's a subjective thing and usually you don't have a bad prof for more than a few weeks. Most of them are great. Usually they either have powerpoint presentations with courseware notes (preprinted) or the info online for you to print out and follow along with OR they have overheads that they either write on or have prepared for you to copy from. Then for my English and 2nd year anatomy courses they just talk and it's up to you to write down what you feel is relevant.