Premed 101 Forums

what do you read for fun??

Guest mephistopheles0003

Guest mephistopheles0003

Hi all,

I'm a med student at U of T & I'm writing an article comparing the reading preferences of premed & med students.

If you could help me out by answering a few questions, I would be eternally appreciative :D

You can either post a reply on this board (I'm sure this would be an interesting topic for all) or you can send me an email at mephistopheles_03@yahoo.ca.

Questions:

1. What are your top 3 books & why?

2. Who or what influences your decision to pick 1 book over another (e.g. friend recommendation, Oprah)?

3. Do you think outside reading should be encouraged in undergrad & med school?

4. How do you think medical school will change your reading habits (e.g. frequency, type of book)?

5. If you were asked "What do you read?" in a medical school interview, do you think you would feel pressured to pick books that reflect your interest in medicine?

Thank you so much for getting through this post & best of luck for the future!!

Mephisto

1. "The Five People You Meet in Heaven" by Mitch Albom, "Gravity" by Tess Gerritsen, can't think of a third :S

2. My public library's "Best Bets" shelf, which I think is influenced by the NY Times

3. No, it's something that should be done out of interest, not because someone says you should

4. I don't anticipate much of a change, I'm hoping I can do more non-curricular reading

5. Not at all. This happened at both my interviews this year and "The Five People..." and "The Da Vinci Code" ended up being talked about... I didn't mention Robin Cook, Tess Gerritsen, or Michael Palmer :)

What's the article for?

Guest CareBear15

Some really good books I've come across:

FICTION

1. Life of Pi by Yann Martel - about a boy who gets stranded in a big ocean with a tiger (Canadian author!)