Premed 101 Forums

question for UT_DENTS_Class of 2010

After reading some of your posts I can tell you are very familiar and highly informed about the dental school admission process. This question might be annoying..but I trust your judgement so I'm going to ask you anyways..lol

I'm currently in my 4th year (i will be doing a 5th year because I still have not taken biochem and organic chem). My first two years were around 3.45 (not good), my third year 3.84 and at the rate i'm going now I think i can pull of another 3.8+ this year (hopefully). You mentioned that if I take a extra year then uoft will take my last 4 years (in my case that's true because my first year was the lowest) and I know that for western they'll probably take my 3rd or 4th year or my 4th and 5th year as my top 2 years. I plan to write the DAT in Februrary. What I'm trying to get at is what do you think my chances are of getting into Uoft and Western? My judgment is that I'll probably have a better chance at Western because my top two years will sit around 3.8 and my chances for uoft will be lower (around 3.7 GPA). But it would be great to get some feedback from someone who is already in dental school and is familiar with the admissions process

thanks in advance,

-wisdomtooth

Hi Wisdomtooth,