Premed 101 Forums

The weight of first year pre-med marks? Help!

Escapade

Hi there. I am currently in my first year of pre-med. I had taken a year off since highschool, and am still getting into the swing of things. I've been struggling with certain subjects that I found were easy in highschool, and I am concerned with how heavy of a weight is based on the first year pre-med marks. My average at the moment is (ick!) roughly 78-80% :( . The thing is, I have 90s in some subjects, and am struggling in others (barely 70s), and have others inbetween. I've been getting the worst marks of my life (some assignments, I ace and some I get really low), and it is starting to make me anxious. I find that lately, I am too busy worrying and am not able to fully focus on the tasks I have at hand.

I heard that it gets better as you go. Is this true? :confused:

Is this a normal feeling that I am going through? Are first year grades usually lower than second year?

Any advice or comments are appreciated!!

also remember that all your 90s can be brought down by a 70 something.

you've got to be the jack of all trades to have a competitive GPA. :)

i would currently focus less on obtaining hte 90s you were used to in high school, and focus more on working everything up to a decent level. this obviously means working on your weaknesses.

also remember that all your 90s can be brought down by a 70 something.

you've got to be the jack of all trades to have a competitive GPA. :)

i would currently focus less on obtaining hte 90s you were used to in high school, and focus more on working everything up to a decent level. this obviously means working on your weaknesses.

Good advice. I would have tried to maintain my highest grades first and foremost!! Then I would have worried about the others. Perhaps this is where I have gone wrong! I always work on my best subjects first and then my weak ones.