Premed 101 Forums

Hello everyone

Hello and nice to meet you guys

i am an 4th year ubc student (combined honours chem biochem) who is applying for admission to ubc's dental school in the coming september...currently struggling through exams and hoping to do well (cuz i screwed up all my midterms)..

my overall average (based on last three years) is 85.9% (A), science average is 87.2% (A)

took the november DAT and eagerly waiting for the result...i will be happy if i get 20-25 on everything...carving...above 15 will be good

suppose everything for DAT goes as planned (assume 20 on everything)...what is my chance to get into UBC...or at least get an interview(UBC is the only dental school that i have applied)?

btw...for backup...i will apply for UBC's grad school and pharmacy as well

with dat scores of everything above 20, and an autobiography that is not written like you have no clue what dentistry is about, and assuming none of ur referees trash your rep in the reference letters, i'd bet my life savings (though i am but a poor student at this point) that you will get an interview...if you check out some of the previous threads about ubc, stats for ubc have been discussed before. that gpa would have been good enough for any university in previous years, maybe except for UofS

Celeron, just one tidbit of advice. DO NOT apply for those backups!!!

here is why:

- an MSc may take you 2-3 years to finish and will not significantly increase your chances of getting in. Also, dental schools don't like accepting people who are in the middle of masters programs.

- Pharmacy? unless you want it as bad as Dentistry, don't do it, this is your career we're talking about! Pharmacy has limited career advancement opportunities, and the max you will make will be mayyybe 90K... It's 4 years and at the end you are not a Doctor, and I would argue that it is not nearly as rewarding a job as Dentistry