Premed 101 Forums

Getting a summer NSERC research award at UBC

EVP

Hi guys,

Hope finals are going well for you all!

I'm at UBC and would like to apply for a NSERC grant for next summer. My friends have kindly mentioned that those are for upper year students (I am currently in my second year). Anyone here at UBC who has done NSERC before? Please share your experiences with the type of research you did and the application process itself, because I'm really curious!

Thanks,

EVP

I'm at UBC. I did NSERC after my second year. Generally, there is some priority for upper level students over younger students, but if you have good marks and a prof who is willing to take you, then you can still be good to go. The application process depends on your department - it's very decentralized. Some departments involve you applying to get an NSERC and then picking the prof afterwards (some science departments). Some departments involve you finding a prof and then applying with the prof to get the NSERC (at UBC, NSERC's under the Faculty of Medicine are typically done in this way).

Your best bet is to contact some of the profs who's work you are interested in - you're most likely to get a placement under those who are in your department and those who have taught you. Make sure you read up on what their research actually is - if there's one thing that separates similar candidates who don't get the job and who do, it's reading up on the prof's research. Tell them you are interested in working in their lab, ask them what projects might be available, and ask them what funding opportunities are available. You can mention the NSERC award then. There are some other awards available through other means too although NSERC is a more common one.