Premed 101 Forums

Summer research interview questions

Draff

For the past two summers I worked as a research assistant. I can explain my work over the past summer in great detail, but when it comes to recalling what I did in 2005, I'm drawing a blank. :eek:

I can piece together a few bits here and there about the methodology... but beyond that, I wouldn't be able to explain the theory (I never had a strong background in the area of research - i.e. electrophysiology)

So do the interviewers generally grill you about your summer research? If so, do they expect you to know all of your research projects inside and out?

Hi there,

Anything that you inserted into your application is fair game when it comes to interviews. I experienced this during interviews a few years back: various interviewers dragged up all sorts of details from my application and asked questions about them. You may as well try to refresh your memory--you have little to lose and a lot to gain if you do.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

If you really cant remember, just make up a straightforward response to it and make it boring so they wont ask you anything further. or better yet, make up something you 'learned' from the experience. They cant really tell the difference between a good made-up answer and a real one .... just use as many real details as possible.

As long as you're able to come up with a rough idea of what you've done you should be alright. Why not contact the people you worked with to jog your memory?

Your interviewers won't have read your research which is why I say they're not going to grill you about the statistical analysis method you selected, etc etc but it could come up in a question (ie - tell me about this research project, what did you find most challenging, etc).