Premed 101 Forums

So I am a second year med student who is thinking of surgery as a career and particularly Neuro. I just think it's a fascinating area and I had a great time shadowing a surgeon as well. I don't have a background or PhD in neurosciences, though I'm trying hard to find a research job in Neuro for the summer (I'm in Toronto), but so far, no luck. My goal is to do residency in British Columbia (I'm from there), and I know they only take 2 residents a year. I would appreciate any advice or knowledge from anyone who is further along than I am as to electives that would be beneficial (besides neurosurg and neurology), people in BC or elsewhere I should try and do electives with, or basically anything I should know as I pursue my goal. My mind is open!

Thanks!

For whatever reason, Neurosurg is not quite as competitive as other specialties - I think last year there were a few spots left open.

Don't worry at all if you don't have research/graduate degrees. Most people don't - you can still be very competitive.

If you want to do neurosurgery research -that's great. Just email a bunch of docs, the more you email, the more likely that one of them will get back to you with something. This is a very do-able thing, you shouldn't have too much trouble finding something. Also - and probably just as important - get some clinical/surgical experience. Get as much as possible so that you are ready for clerkship - where you will really shine.

Also - when you are contacting docs, be sure that you specify that you have "neurosurg", and not "neuro" (ie. because neuro is clinical, not surgery).

good luck

Hi there,

Neurosurgery might not seem as competitive as some other surgical specialties because of a number of factors including: 1) the residency is one of the toughest available; 2) the US recently closed its doors to Canadian-trained Neurosurgeons.