Premed 101 Forums

What schools don't have GPA cutoffs?

Guest gesuchtish

Guest gesuchtish

Hi guys,

Please help me out.

My situation is not so good. I am a UBC grad, BC resident with 3.5 GPA(from a hardcore program) but 37 in MCAT. I know Queens, Manitoba and Saska have GPA cutoffs so I guess I can't goto these places.

Very unfortunate I'm not a Ontario resident. UBC take GPA much more seriously than MCAT. What schools do I have a shot at ?

Thanks

Guest Jochi1543

I think U of C and U of A are both pretty flexible. Your GPA is just a part of the algorithm, so it can be balanced out by high MCAT scores.

Guest jgray2

you have an amazing chance at ubc if you are inprov.

my gpa (oop) was a 3.49 at the time of application. that still fetched me a 21/25 for my academic score. if your situation is similar, then all you need is to be decent on the non academic side in order to score an interview at ubc. really, it's the interview that will make the most difference for you.

manitoba's cutoffs may not be an issue for you if you've dropped your lowest courses as is allowed by their special formula. the same can be said with toronto (no oop quota).

Guest kylerh

Is the GPA of 3.5 cumulative? MAny schools take your best 2 years or years and schools like U of T drop your worst grade according to how many years of undergrad study you have.

Good luck

kylerh

• 3 weeks later...
Guest anvah

gesuchtish

I would recommend that you make use of Google actually visited each of the medical schools webpages and found out this information for yourself. There are only around 14 or 15 schools and would take at most 1 hour of your time.

Guest scrubbed

Hello,

To give you a quick lay of the land.