Premed 101 Forums

OOP vs. international applicant

muhgel

Hi people, I was just looking at the applicant status at mcgill website

OOP seats:4-7 applicants: 400

International seats:12 applicants: 150

Im a BC resident but studied my undergrad at Mcgill. No chance at UBC obviously so I am looking at the Ontario schools & McGill. I also have dual citizenship, so according to the stats, an international applicant has a better shot than an OOP canadian? overlooking the tuition differences, can someone gimme some advise whether or not to apply as an OOP or as an international applicant? I wonder if they will find it fishy that i was a OOP mcgill undergrad but now an international applicant. Also I wonder if they have a different admission forumla for IP vs OOP vs international app.

Anyone got any idea? Thanks!

Muhgel

You cannot apply as an international applicant if your status at McGill as an undergrad is out-of-province Canadian. This is because your status is very clearly stated in your McGill transcript and the people at McMed will talk to the people at James Admin. In any case, if they find out, you are in big trouble. I was told this in one of the med school seminars that the McGill Faculty of Medicine gave (I am also a dual citizen and a BC resident going to school at McGill....so I can sympathize).

So, if you are OOP right at McGill, you can only apply as OOP to their MD program (as far as I know). But why do you say that UBC is out of the question if you are a BC resident? UBC almost exclusively takes BC residents (only 10 spots for OOP). If you think you are good enough to apply to Ontario and Quebec as an OOP, then you definitely have a good chance (academically anyway) at UBC.

Hope this helps!