Premed 101 Forums

Volunteering in Toronto

Hi! I'm a student of the university of toronto and am seriously considering to apply to UBC dental school next year. Unlike UofT and UWO, UBC selection methods are pretty comprehensive (e.g.: reference letters, volunteering experiences, personal letters, etc). I do have a lot of volunteering experiences, but not many of them are quite related to the field of dentistry. Can anyone here give me some advice? Should I just randomly visit a dental clinic and ask a dentist there for a volunteering position or something? :confused:

Hi! I'm a student of the university of toronto and am seriously considering to apply to UBC dental school next year. Unlike UofT and UWO, UBC selection methods are pretty comprehensive (e.g.: reference letters, volunteering experiences, personal letters, etc). I do have a lot of volunteering experiences, but not many of them are quite related to the field of dentistry. Can anyone here give me some advice? Should I just randomly visit a dental clinic and ask a dentist there for a volunteering position or something? :confused:

Hi Kevin, Here is my two cents.

I would start with your family dentist and ask him if you could come and shadow him/her. When you have the conversation make it worthwhile to them; in addition to shadowing, offer to help out the assistants with tasks like cleaning the operatory, greeting and seating patients, i.e. anything you can do to help the office run more smoothly. If you don't have a family dentist, you should find one :D , then you can do the above.

In addition to volunteering in a dental office, try to find volunteering / extra-curricular activities (at or away from school) that build and demonstrate your leadership abilities.

Good Luck.

Hey kevin

Do what Tode says! It's a good way to start everything off. It is also good for you because it's one of the final tests to see if you really like what dentistry has to offer.