Premed 101 Forums

Student Helping Prof with Research

Wup

Okay, So this summer I am going to be working with a professor and he is always publishing lots of research, and I am going to be helping with some experiments. I want to get my name tagged on to one of the papers. How would I go about doing this. Would I ask him if i could get my name added? Wait for him to ask me? (I am very new to this type of job btw).

Thanks

Okay, So this summer I am going to be working with a professor and he is always publishing lots of research, and I am going to be helping with some experiments. I want to get my name tagged on to one of the papers. How would I go about doing this. Would I ask him if i could get my name added? Wait for him to ask me? (I am very new to this type of job btw).

Thanks

Authorship on a paper is a privilege and does not come automatically from working with a professor. If your professor believes you have contributed enough throughout the summer, then he/she will include you. Otherwise, don't ask because it can appear very negative.

It depends on your contributions to the paper.

For purely technical work, you'll likely get mentioned in the acknowledgement section.

To be an author, you must have contributed something innovative (ex. new ideas, new technique, new ways to do things fasters).

I disagree with the above 2 posts. First, most students, including grad students, discuss with their PIs as to what new experiments to do, how much they contribute to that discussion depends on the student/PI - so students don't just come up with new ideas by themselves. In general, undergrads contribute less to the "thinking up ideas or designing experiments" process. But if they do enough of the experiments in the paper, their name will be on it. Of course, unless your only job in the lab is to make reagents/gels and wash dishes for the grad students...