Premed 101 Forums

Long time lurker, first time poster! haha

hey!

congrats on everybody who has received an offer of admissions or is waitlisted or who even got an interview, it's really competitive so getting to any of those levels is quite the achievement.

Anyways, I'm planning on applying to UofO med school, I'm doing a 5th year but I've completed a four year honours degree. My WGPA (assuming they look at my 2nd, third, and fourth year, I just emailed them today to ask them about that) is a 3.73. I'm a ontario resident, applying through the english stream. I'm very upset that Ottawa unfortunately, does not look at volunteer experience prior to university. I began volunteering at the age of 13, 4 years straight, in a hospital, and have over 500+ hours. I have plenty of work experience, 5 years in a pharmacy. I'm currently at CAMH doing clinical research (mood disorder clinic).

First, what is an extracurricular activity? for example, hypothetically speaking if I enjoy playing basketball during my free time can I realistically put that down as an extracurricular or for example they expect that I have played for a varsity team and require a reference from the team head coach, association etc. I'm assuming being apart of clubs would be an extracurricular activity, correct me if I'm wrong.

Also, if I mention that I volunteered at a hospital even though it was prior to university will ottawa just ignore it or completely ignore my application as a result?

I completed my honours thesis, just this year and did very well in it, can this be classified as research (even though I got a uni credit for it)?