Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Plan

UBCGuy

Hi all!

Haven't been on the boards in a while in an attempt to keep myself focussed for finals and starting work for the summer, but since the MCAT is looming more and more near by the day I was interested in what everyones plans for studying are.

First of all for me I guess. I just finished second year and am writing the MCAT on August 9th. I am not taking a course. I started studying lightly about a week ago but really got my act together.

My plan is to methodically complete the whole Kaplan book (I think it is the "comprehensive review" book or something like that) by the end of the month, doing 2 or 3 chapters per day, taking Sunday to do a review of the whole week, and taking Saturdays off to have a life and not get overwhelmed. This puts me on schedule to get through all of the material, including review questions for each section and a one week complete read through by the first week of July.

From there I plan to do one MCAT every sunday writing a complete MCAT in the morning - early afternoon and then sitting down and figuring out what I did wrong in the evening and come up with a map of what me weaknesses seem to be. Then I will spend the next work week going over the weaknesses, trying to fill in the gaps.

Fridays will always be reserved for working on verbal and coming up with a method/plan for the writing sample.

The Sunday before the Thursday exam with be a whole day review marathon, then Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday will be light general review in an attempt not to get everything that I have learned muddled up in my head.

Most importantly the night of the 9th will involve an expensive trip to the liquor store and MCAT completion celebrations with my other Aug. 9th comrades.

Now I am very interested in seeing what everyone else plans to do to knock this badboy out of the park...

We're all in this together!

Cheers,

UBCGuy