Premed 101 Forums

Should I just give up?

Hi

I'm a newbie to this forum. I was searching for information on applying to med schools and I found this forum.

I just finished my first year at queen's (life sci) and I got 75.5 average.

This is mainly because of physics and the elective courses I took during the year. I did very poorly in these courses.

I am not going to be taking physics again and I am confident that I will be able to get higher marks in coming years.

However, the GPA requirements for med schools were around 3.7 and schools like Queen's calculate all 4 years of undergrad studies.

The OMSAS conversion table tells me that 75.5 at Queen's falls under GPA of 3. Due to this fact, I have to get 3.93 GPA in 2nd,3rd, and 4th years which I think will be nearly impossible.

Do I still have a shot? or should I turn to something else and not waste my time?

It would be great if someone who's had a similar experience could help.

Thanks in advance!

Two thoughts:

1) You say your GPA is a 75.5, converting into a 3.0 using the OMSAS conversion. Did you convert each course first, then get the average, or did you just convert 75.5 -> 3.0? I don't know if that would make any difference, but maybe it might.