Premed 101 Forums

Newbie question

Hi all!

I'm a UBC third year student who will be applying to Queens as a third year applicant this summer. I really like Queens and from what I hear Queens has a beautiful campus and Kingston is a great place to party/ live. I am a bit worried about the GPA cut offs, as I calculated my cumulative GPA using OMSAS as 3.6868. Does this count as 3.69? Thanks guys!

Hey Leonidas! I'm glad that you like Queen's. And yup, the campus is very pretty :)

As far as I know, OMSAS does round, so your GPA would count as 3.69.

The only thing is that the Queen's GPA cutoff seems to change depending on the applicant pool, so it's anybody's guess what exactly next year's GPA cutoff will be.

Good luck!

however, if your cumulative gpa doesn't meet the cut-off, they will use either your best 2 years or your 2 most recent years (you may want to check on which one it is). For you though, since you are applying as a third year, your 2 most recent is your cumulative anyways. Depending on what the average is this year and what your MCAT is, you may still have a chance and if not this year, then next year.

Thanks for your replies!

I think I'm really walking the line here with Queens, because their GPA cut off has been 3.68 for the past 2 years, and I'm 3.6868! Their MCAT cut offs are 10 10 10, and I've been getting 10's and 11's on my practice exams (sometimes I get 12's though). I really hope I have a chance to at least make it to the interview. Do you guys know if Queens discriminates against 3rd year applicants?

Also, I will apply to Toronto too- is my GPA far too low for them, considering they are so focused on academics? Thanks guys!

Do you guys know if Queens discriminates against 3rd year applicants?

Queen's grants interviews to everyone who meets both the GPA and MCAT cut-offs. Therefore, provided you make these cut-offs, you will receive an interview. There are students who are accepted each year after only three years of undergrad.