Premed 101 Forums

To current and future NOSM

• 2 weeks later...

The best way to figure this out is to tour the school. The guide will make it very clear as to how they are different frpm other schools. If you've ever been through another medical school and than tour NOSM, the differences will slap you in the face.

I guess Ill try to be a bit more helpful .... I currently work as a registered dietitian for 7 first nation communities in NO and my university and internship training didnt prepare me for the realities of working in rural and remote areas. It has been a struggle to figure out accessing patient records, reliable resources remotely, etc etc. NOSM will prepare you to work in these rural and remote areas so one wont go through this same situation as an MD, imagine going to U of T, training in the biggest teaching hospitals with the latest tech than post grad you are dropped onto the Zhiibaahaasing First Nation Reserve with 52 people in the community, no support staff, some outdated text books, limited info in the patient chart, no lab, no collegues .... what do you do now? NOSM should help in easing some of these realities ..... So in other words I want to learn in the same environment I will work in so that is why.