Premed 101 Forums

Need advice/or a dose of reality

Hi everybody...

I have been around for a while but do not post too often

I recently applied to Calgary as a mature student and IP and did not even come close to an interview. I am 32 and was an Emergency Medical Technican (before going back to school). I completed an honours degree in Neuroscience (GPA 3.61 - 3.88 last two) and I have recently completed a Masters in Public Health (GPA 3.8). I am currently on my internship with the United Nations in Nepal and have 6+ years of medical volunteer experience (including 2 years overseas). Problem: I have a depressing MCAT at 26M (:mad: Kaplan writing samples) and I have one year of University 14 year ago that is dragging me down.

Anybody in this boat and any suggestions? My career is starting to take me in a different direction and I am not sure how much longer I can keep applying?

Thanks and good luck to those applying this year!!!

I think you might have a number of options, but being willing to relocate might be necessary... I'm not really familiar with most schools in the country, so this is not complete advice, it's just an idea, as my particular med school (Ottawa U) comes to mind when you mention your situation... I don't know if you would meet the cutoffs & if you would be willing to move there, but it might be worth looking into?