Premed 101 Forums

Just starting my Master's, low GPA. please advice!

Hello!!

I'm really happy i found this forum. lots of important threads. I really need some opinions and advices here.. i'm tired of how much i've been pondering about this issue without talking openly about it to people.

I finished my undergrad at uOttawa and currently i'm in my first year of a science master's program. my undergrad GPA is pretty bad because I was really not focused on my studies and goals (really bad mistake)..

I THINK that my gpa is about 3.46/4.

I already did the MCAT and I easily got a 30. I'm very sure that i can get much higher if i study better. i know my abilities if i just focus

my non-academic is not too good. i did some very minor part time jobs, but lots of small volunteer positions. i plan on joining the red cross so i can at least have one good volunteer experience and a good reference.

i have been working in research since the end of my third year... a possibility of a publication by spring 2008.

i do some sports and planning on increasing that.. i'm also pretty well rounded when it comes to knowledge about various topics and issues.. i joined university clubs, did some small things here and there.. but as u can see.. nothing really spectacular.

so taking these into consideration.. my question is: should i try to apply to ontario medical schools in Fall 2008? (and write the MCAT in the summer or spring).. and also perhaps attempt some US schools and other canadians school? do i have a chance?? please be very frank with me.

Or should i really wait till my second year of my master's so that i have more marks from my master's degree calculated?? (if i apply in fall 2008 i think only one year will count.. hopefully i will get a 4.0 in this year)

my references are my research advisor, a man that i tutor a language (we became very good friends), and possibly from my intended red cross volunteer experience.

what areas should i really concentrate on??